Remembering the Sabbath

Relaxing on hammock in garden

Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days shalt thou labour, and do all thy work: but the seventh day is the sabbath of the Lord thy God.

— Exodus 20:8-10a

I sat in my living room and wrote three things on a sheet of paper:

  • When is my sabbath?
  • Am I keeping it holy?
  • How do I fix that?

The whole thing about this sabbath is that you have to have something set as holy to even observe it. Holy, which is to say, set apart as special and sacred and separated in priority (among other things) from all else.

When was the last time I let myself be set aside as holy?

Better question: when was the last time I let go of my world and let it turn without me trying to tweet it, snapchat it, or instagram it?

When have you?

At what point do I find my holy and take the full time to celebrate that being separate and set apart? How do I learn anew how to find wisdom in doing things that most consider foolish?

Leave a Reply

