Why I’m Silent Sometimes

I have a couple of these kinds of blogs. One for work, one for just discussion in general as a person and one other blog for Christian thought and such.

I haven’t written much of anything for a while (except for posting here yesterday) when I looked at my calendar and realized that, according to it, I should have something “new” to say to you every week. Thing is: I don’t.

Repeat: I do not have something new to say every week. Or every month for that matter.

I never have had that as a goal, but the goal that I do have is to speak to what I’m passionate about when I write. About something that is burning in me in that moment and must escape me. When that happens, then and only then, will I bother to even type. You have enough noise. If you don’t believe me, check your G+/Facebook/Twitter and other feeds. Check Path. Check Pinterest. I’m not saying any of those things are bad — they aren’t at all…

What is bad is information overload. My silence is in part laziness I suppose, but it’s just as much (if not more) stubborn refusal to contribute to the noise. I may write more often, but when I do, at least you’ll know it’s because something was important enough to move me in the first place.

Leave a Reply

